The Lost Art of Album Hunting

Kendrickmusicfreak

The days of hunting though bargain bins and rows of cds/vinyl are slowly vanishing.

When I first starting building my music collection, it was the mid 90s. 1996 to be exact, I was a young 18 year old in my first year at university and finally had some money. Not a lot on the student allowance but way more than I had at school…which was none.

In Christchurch at that time there was Echo Records and Galaxy Records.

Echo

Echo records was like finding King Solomon’s Mines to me. Vast rows of cds and tape calling my name, Mark Mark come and buy us. Enough to give me cold sweats (I do have a problem I know).

The most important thing that they had, was the second hand sector for cds and bargain bins. In the 90’s cds were still going at a crazy price of $34.95, and that was too much for a poor student…

View original post 426 more words

Leave a Reply

